TOURNAMENTS & EVENTS / WILL

The Players’ Championship (Round 3 Recap)

tiger-sergio-640.jpg

With all the fuss going on between Sergio and Tiger, Swedish rookie David Lingmerth quietly played his game shooting 4-under-par through 17 to take the lead.

Woods, Garcia and Henrik Stenson are all two shots behind T-2rd at 10-under overall.

An incident on the par-5 second hole added additional tension between Woods and Garcia. According to Golf.com:

Garcia was hitting his second shot from the fairway when he was disrupted by a burst of cheers from the large crowd gathered around Woods in the trees. Garcia snapped his head over to the left and glared.

The cheer was for Woods taking a fairway metal from his bag, a risky shot because he had only a 15-foot gap to escape the Woods.

In an interview after the round, Sergio said to reporters, “Well, obviously Tiger was on the left and it was my shot to hit. He moved all of the crowd that he needed to move. I waited for that. I wouldn’t say that he didn’t see that I was ready, but you do have a feel when the other guy is going to hit and right as I was in the top of the backswing, I think he must have pulled like a 5-wood or a 3-wood and obviously everybody started screaming. So that didn’t help very much.”

Tiger’s responds, “The marshals, they told me already hit, so I pulled a club and was getting ready to play my shot and then I hear his comments afterwards, and not real surprising that he’s complaining about something.

“That’s fine,” Garcia said when told of Woods’ comments. “At least I’m true to myself. I know what I’m doing, and he can do whatever he wants.”

The two are like bickering siblings fighting over the last piece of cake at the dinner table.

The third round was delayed close to two hours due to storms and later suspended because of darkness. Ten players will have to return Sunday morning to complete the round.

Rory McIlroy is playing like a puss, shotting an ugly 1-over-par on Saturday to fall five spots back to T-18th at 5-under overall.

On a side note, checkout Lee Westwood wiffing this shot on 1st hole that nestled up against the tree. Tough shot and even worse luck for someone who went 36 holes without a bogey. He’s currently sitting T-12th at 6-under overall.

Final day tomorrow. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

